Respect Senior Care Rider: 9152007550 (Missed call)

Sales: 1800-209-0144| Service: 1800-209-5858 Service Chat: +91 75072 45858


Claim Assistance
Get In Touch
Sep 14, 2020

How to Celebrate World Heritage Day?

World Heritage Day was established in 1982 by International Council for Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS). It is also known as International Day for Monuments and sites. Celebrating the world culture and bringing awareness about the importance of historical monuments and sites has been the main idea behind recognizing this day. Every year since 1982, April 18 is celebrated as World Heritage Day. The theme for Word Heritage Day 2020 is Shared Cultures, Shared Heritage, Shared Responsibility. The theme has been chosen keeping in mind the current coronavirus outbreak and the chaos that it has caused globally. The COVID-19 quarantine has forced all of us to stay inside and thus, this year, it will not be possible for anyone to visit any heritage sites and understand its culture. So, here’re some world heritage sites that you can visit virtually and celebrate the World Heritage Day:
  • Taj Mahal: This world heritage site was built in the 17th century by Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan. It is located in Agra, Uttar Pradesh, India. The Taj Mahal is famous for its ivory-white marble structure and the tombs of Shah Jahan and Mumtaz Mahal, wife of Shah Jahan. It is considered the best Mughal architecture in the rich history of India.
  • Towers of Angkor Wat: The temple of Angkor Wat was built in the 12th century near Cambodia and it represents the Khmer architecture. This temple houses five central towers, which represent the peaks of Mount Meru. It is one of the most important pilgrimage shrines and a popular tourist attraction.
  • Hiroshima Peace Memorial: The Hiroshima Peace Memorial is a part of Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park in Hiroshima, Japan. It is the only structure that was left standing after the bombing on Hiroshima on August 06, 1945. This world Heritage has been preserved in the exact same form as it was found after the atomic bomb attack.
  • Pyramid of khufu: It is popularly known as the Pyramid of Giza or the Pyramid of Cheops. It is the oldest and the largest of the three pyramids in the Giza pyramid complex in Greater Cairo, Egypt. It is also the most ancient wonder out of the Seven Wonders of the World.
  • Stonehenge: It is a prehistoric monument in Wiltshire, England. The architecture of the Stonehenge consists of a ring of standing stones, which weigh around 25 tons each. Stonehenge is regarded as an important British Cultural icon.
While we hope that you have a mesmerizing experience visiting these world heritage sites online, sitting right on your couch at your home, we would recommend that you be cautious of the suspicious links that you might click unknowingly and become a victim of cyber-attacks. We would also urge you to share your personal information like your contact details, photograph and bank account, carefully while browsing the internet. Be safe when you go online and safeguard yourself from any financial burden that cyber-crime might cause by getting a cyber insurance policy.

Was this article helpful? Rate it

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 18

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Like this article? Share it with your friends!

Share Your Thoughts. Leave a Comment Below!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required